CMP Team

Project Director/Editor:

Alison Trope, Ph.D. is Clinical Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies in the School for Communication at the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School of Communication & Journalism. She is the author of Stardust Monuments: The Saving and Selling of Hollywood (Dartmouth, 2012), which explores the enduring efforts to memorialize and canonize the history and meaning Hollywood takes on in our everyday lives. She teaches a range of courses in the Annenberg School on media and news literacy, gender and media, popular culture, media exhibition and distribution, and visual culture.

Project Manager:

Garrett Broad, Ph.D. is Assistant Professor in the Department of Communication at Fordham University and a graduate of USC’s Annenberg School for Communication where he helped develop the Critical Media Project. His research and teaching investigates the role of media and communication in social justice movements, with a particular focus on food justice and the environment.

Editorial Assistant:

Katherine Miltner is a PhD Candidate at the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, and a Joint Fellow at the UC Berkeley Center for Technology, Society and Policy and the UC Berkeley Center for Long-Term Cybersecurity. Her research focuses on the intersection of technology, identity, and power, and her work has appeared in the peer-reviewed journals Social Media & Society; Science, Technology, and Human Values; International Journal of Communication, First Monday, Feminist Media Studies, and Mobile Media and Communication.

Editorial Assistant:

Andrea Wenzel, Ph.D., is an assistant professor at Temple University and a fellow with Columbia’s Tow Center for Digital Journalism. Her research focuses on initiatives attempting to bridge divides of race, class, and politics—including efforts to combine solutions journalism with community engagement. Prior to completing her Ph.D. at USC Annenberg, she spent 15 years as a public radio producer, editor, and international media development consultant.

Editorial Assistant:

Diana Lee, Ph.D., is a content strategist passionate about building and amplifying the reach of dynamic, multimedia educational resources. For over a decade, she has worked to improve educational access and equity for students and teachers of all ages and backgrounds through research-based program, curriculum, and resource development.

Editorial Assistant:

Beth Boser, Ph.D. received her doctorate from the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism in 2013. She is currently an Assistant Professor of Communication Studies at the University of Wisconsin, La Crosse. Her scholarly interests center on gender, reproduction, and social change in rhetorical and mediated contexts.


Meryl Alper, Noel Berry, Evelyn Blanco, Emily Bon, Melina Mae Castorillo, Lulu Cerone, Megan Chun, Stella Chung, Hannah Cruz, Tisha Dejmanee, Kevin Driscoll, Laurel Felt, Jennifer Frazin, Alysia Hendry, Grace Kim, Anya Kushwaha, Ioana Literat, Dani Otter, Sarah Livingston, Chase Peterson, Becca Schwartz, Raina Singh, Kari Storla, Lana Swartz, Ella Tabares, Annie Vought, Cynthia Wang


Paula M. Carbone (USC Rossier School of Education), Taylor Rifkin (Achievement First), Jamy Stillman (School of Education, University of Colorado)

Students of COMM 465 (Gender in Media Industries and Products), Spring 2012:

Vickie Ahn, Alex Bender, Amelia Billinger, Emily Bon, Mark Brown, Micaela Cambier, Kelly Ciurczak, Natalie Cohen, Paige Cooley, Daniella Covino, Brandon Evans, Teddy Glickman, Taylor Goila, Victoria Gu, Adriana Hrenciuc, Brittany Jacobson, Kat Koehler, Ann Liang, Nicole Moradifar, Nia Nakama, Francine Ngo, Nichole Nogawski, Joanne Park, Ray Penaia, Mariana Perez-Seda, Nina Pesavento, Sarah Satow, Katherine Schwarzenegger, Nichole Shoohed, Sam Smith, Blair Strong, Alex Van Der Hoek, Annie Vought, Adam Werner.

Web Design:

Erika Hang

Web Development:

Jenn de la Fuente

Logo design:

Romane Cameron

With generous support provided by the Audrey and Sydney Irmas Charitable Foundation.